Lay vs. Lie…Grammatical Nightmares Unleashed

Editing a book pretty much sucks. When you finish writing a novel, you can’t help but think that you’re super close to releasing your book into the world.  In reality, though, you have to edit it for months and months.  This is definitely my least favorite phase of the novel writing process.

When I was younger I was terrible at reading. I was in the lowest reading/writing class in school and I was embarrassed.  So I spent my free time and pretty much the entirety of my summers reading.  I’ve read so many books that I couldn’t possibly count them all.  And eventually I got moved up.  I made it to the top reading class.  I’d say all the hard work paid off, but it wasn’t hard work.  Once I picked up a book and started reading for fun I couldn’t stop.  It’s one of my favorite things to do.  But there’s still that insecure kid in me that’s worried I’m not good enough.  So the editing phase of my book has been a complete nightmare.  I’m learning things about grammar that I never learned in school.  The difference between lay and lie gets me every time.  I can’t use either word without looking them both up.  Sometimes I just ask my fiancé because I can’t bear to search for it again, but surely he’s losing patience with me for asking the same questions over and over.  There are just so many tiny, frustrating little grammatical things like that.  I’m working hard though, and I do hope to have my book ready soon.

I’ve actually taken a small, much needed break from editing for the past few weeks (my book is in someone else’s hands and I’m waiting to see what feedback she has for me). So instead of torturing myself looking up lay vs. lie for the millionth time, today I got to work on some of the artwork for my book.  I finalized my map and have the concept down for my cover art.  I really like how everything is coming together.  I just need to keep reminding myself that I’ve come a long way since elementary school.  And one day I know I’ll learn the difference between lay and lie.  Some things just take time.

Here’s a snippet of the spine of my book:saxa taylor book topper

 

Leave a comment