Weddings Make me Sick

They really do make me sick…literally and figuratively speaking. Over the weekend I attended my fiancé’s step brother’s wedding.   I think working from home has subjected me to a weaker immune system or something, because whenever I’m in large groups of people I seem to get sick 70% of the time now.  So I attended this wedding and I’ve been sick ever since.  Which isn’t that bad because it’s fall and I’m drinking lots of tea and reading lots of books.  I’m a happy camper, minus my unforgiving runny nose.  Excuse me while I get a tissue.  So this wedding made me physically sick, but also everything about it made me hate weddings.  I have a love/hate relationship with the idea of planning my own wedding.  I have now been engaged for almost a year and a half and there are zero plans finalized let alone semi-decided.   Every day I plan stuff for our business and then every night I’d rather do anything beside plan something else.

It’s not that I don’t want to get married or don’t value the idea of marriage. The thing is, we’ve been acting like a married couple for years.  My fiancé and I just click.  The paper work is all that we’re missing.  Weddings are ridiculously expensive and pretty much all the same.  It’s boring.  It’s outdated.  It’s a waste of $20,000.  Geeze that’s a lot of money!  And no matter what everyone says, it’s all about the guests.  Everyone has something to complain about or something to suggest.  You’re putting on a party for people when you should be solely focused on celebrating your relationship.  The romance that should be the center focus has been sucked out of these ridiculous cookie cutter weddings.  Elton John wants to know if you can you feel the love tonight?  Not at weddings you can’t!  Eloping looks so good right now!  Somewhere warm and sunny, and away from everyone else would be a dream wedding to me.  I’m just sick of thinking about weddings.

10391453_733480256728768_2859117891805440917_n

Leave a comment